Fortinet Client on Mac OS Monterey (M1 Chip)

Adhi Setyatuhu
1 min readMar 1, 2022

--

It works!

Photo by Clément Hélardot on Unsplash

The first thing I always do after buying a new computer is to set up the environment while familiarising myself with the new device. When I installed Fortinet on my m1 macbook pro, I found that it didn’t work. I failed when trying to log in. I tried uninstalling it then installed it again. It still didn’t work.

I did some search on google then I found this thread at reddit. It says Fortinet 7.0.0.22 works at Monterey 12.0.1. Yes, the 7.0.0.22 one, not the latest version! Since I already installed the latest version (7.0.2), but didn’t work.

If you face the same problem, you can try the 7.0.0.22 version instead, you can download it here: https://filestore.fortinet.com/forticlient/downloads/FortiClient_7.0.0.22_macosx.dmg

You have to allow the FortiTray. After the installation, there will be pop up asking you to allow FortiTray. If there is no pop up you can still do it from the System Preferences > Security & Privacy > General, you will find it in the most bottom.

I hope it works for you too :)

--

--

Adhi Setyatuhu

A full stack web developer (familiar with Django) from Indonesia. Available for remote jobs.